Skip to content
Peptide Spencer

Synthetic pentadecapeptide. Investigational; not an FDA-approved drug.

BPC-157

Also known as Body Protection Compound-157, Body Protective Compound-157, BPC 157, PL 14736, PL-10, PLD-116, gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157, BPC-157 acetate, BPC-157 (free base)

Limited human data

Not FDA-approved. Not on FDA's 503A category lists (May 14, 2026). Source, May 14, 2026

Identity. Synthetic pentadecapeptide with the sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV and a molecular weight of about 1419, derived from a fragment of a gastric protein (PMID 17186181). The formulary vial is 10 mg (also in blends). The FDA PCAC briefing lists two bulk forms: BPC-157 (free base) and BPC-157 acetate. Confirm with the pharmacy which salt form the vial contains and whether the labelled mg is net peptide or salt weight. The practice mcg ranges assume net peptide. For blends, take the BPC-157 content per vial and per mL from the label and dose each component separately.

At a glance

These dosages are a helpful guide, not a prescription. Every clinician is expected to do their own due diligence before prescribing.

  1. Start

    10 mg (total), injected around the inflamed bladder area during cystoscopy1

    Human study
Frequency
Single procedure1
Route
Around bladder inflammation during cystoscopy (reported as intravesical)1
Course
Single administration; follow-up duration not stated1

Human data are single 10 mg bladder-injection or 10 to 20 mg IV doses; no study tested repeated subcutaneous dosing.

Dosing detail

Human studies

Human study
  • Women aged 39-76 (mean 58.3) with moderate to severe interstitial cystitis who had not responded to pentosan polysulfate; BPC-157 from a 503A compounding pharmacy; single procedure at a private clinic

    10 mg (total)1

    Route
    injection around the area of inflammation of the bladder, during cystoscopy (reported as intravesical)
    Frequency
    single procedure
    Duration
    single administration; follow-up duration not stated in abstract
    n
    12
    Design
    Open-label uncontrolled pilot study, no comparator
    Source quote
    The women underwent cystoscopy and were treated with injections of the peptide BPC-157 (total of 10 mg) around the area of inflammation of the bladder during a single procedure.

    Finding. 10 of 12 reported complete symptom resolution. 2 of 12 rated success at 80%. The authors report no adverse events.

  • Two healthy adults (58-year-old Asian male, 68-year-old Caucasian female), each previously exposed to IV BPC-157; private clinic in Florida; day 1 arm

    10 mg2

    Route
    intravenous infusion in 250 cc normal saline
    Frequency
    once (day 1)
    Duration
    infused over one hour
    n
    2
    Design
    IRB-approved uncontrolled safety pilot, no comparator
    Source quote
    On day 1, 10 mg of BPC-157 in 250 cc of normal saline was infused over one hour.

    Finding. No measurable effect on tested heart, liver, kidney, thyroid or glucose biomarkers. No side effects were reported.

  • Same two adults; day 2 arm

    20 mg2

    Route
    intravenous infusion in 250 cc normal saline
    Frequency
    once (day 2)
    Duration
    infused over one hour
    n
    2
    Design
    IRB-approved uncontrolled safety pilot, no comparator
    Source quote
    On day 2, fasting blood work was repeated, vital signs were recorded, and 20 mg of BPC-157 in 250 cc of normal saline was infused over one hour.

    Finding. Tolerated with no adverse effects reported. The authors conclude that future studies are needed to confirm safety.

Clinical practice

Clinical practice

Practice numbers come only from clinic and educational web pages that contain no trial data. None is a label or pharmacy monograph. Peer-reviewed reviews state that there is no validated dosing regimen. Practice figures are mcg per dose or per day. The only published human administrations were single 10-20 mg doses by IV and intravesical routes (10-80 times the practice daily dose). No study connects the two, and no human study tested repeated subcutaneous dosing.

Start
250 mcg once daily, subcutaneous (Dr. Rogers Centers: 'Begin around 250 µg daily for 1–2 weeks'; BHRC: 'Many providers begin at the low end (250 mcg/day)'; PeptideJournal beginner table: 250 mcg once daily, morning fasted, 4 weeks).
Titration
No validated titration. One clinic page suggests going up to 500 mcg twice daily if tolerated ('Increase gradually: Up to 500 µg twice daily if tolerated'); start low and reassess.
Typical
Per dose: 250-500 mcg subcutaneous. Frequency: once or twice daily. Per day: 250-1,000 mcg depending on source, a roughly 2x spread. BHRC: 250-500 mcg per day. Dr. Rogers Centers: 250-500 mcg once or twice daily (up to 1,000 mcg/day). PeptideJournal: standard protocol 250-500 mcg twice daily, total 500-1,000 mcg/day. Sources disagree on per-day totals; check which figure (per dose or per day) any given protocol states.
Ceiling
No sourced maximum. Highest practice figures found: 500 mcg twice daily (1,000 mcg/day) listed as 'Higher-intensity' for acute or larger injuries (BHRC); 'staying within 200–1,000 µg per day' (Dr. Rogers Centers). Oral capsule use for gut goals: 'typically 500–1,500 mcg/day' (BHRC).
Frequency
Once or twice daily (BHRC: 'given once or twice daily in a 4–8 week cycle'; Dr. Rogers Centers: 'once or twice daily').
Route
Subcutaneous injection (primary, often near the injury); oral capsule or sublingual for gut-focused use (PeptideJournal and Dr. Rogers Centers); intramuscular mentioned (PeptideJournal, Dr. Rogers Centers). Routes used in published human pilots were intravesical and intravenous, plus intra-articular in a retrospective chart review. Oral amounts differ by source: PeptideJournal 500-1,000 mcg/day, Dr. Rogers 200-500 µg once or twice daily, BHRC 500-1,500 mcg/day; PeptideJournal says oral typically needs 2-3x the injectable dose.
Timing
Subcutaneous dosing 'not strongly food-dependent' (BHRC); oral dosing on an empty stomach; PeptideJournal beginner protocol: morning, fasted.
Cycle
Cycle length is convention, not evidence, and sources disagree on whether breaks are needed. BHRC: 4-8 weeks; PeptideJournal: '4–8 weeks of daily use, followed by a 2–4 week break' but also 'Taking days off from BPC-157 (unlike with GH secretagogues) doesn't appear to be necessary'; Dr. Rogers Centers: '4–6 weeks on, then take 2–4 weeks off'. No human study exceeded a single administration.

Sources

  • Clinical practicePeer-reviewed review6
    Currently, there are no standardized guidelines around dosing and protocols, particularly for potential use in humans

What clinics and vendors publish

These ranges come from clinic and vendor publications, not studies.

Clinic-reportedCommunity-reported
  • Clinic-reportedPharmacy or clinic protocol3
    BPC-157 is most commonly dosed at 250–500 mcg per day by subcutaneous injection.
  • Clinic-reportedPharmacy or clinic protocol3
    Many providers begin at the low end (250 mcg/day) to assess tolerance before considering the higher end.
  • Clinic-reportedPharmacy or clinic protocol3
    A BPC-157 cycle is commonly 4–8 weeks.
  • Clinic-reportedPharmacy or clinic protocol4
    Most users take between 250 µg and 500 µg once or twice daily for 4–6 weeks
  • Clinic-reportedPharmacy or clinic protocol4
    Increase gradually: Up to 500 µg twice daily if tolerated
  • Clinic-reportedPharmacy or clinic protocol4
    These ranges reflect common practitioner-guided protocols, not medical prescriptions.
  • Community-reportedOther web source5
    4–8 weeks of daily use, followed by a 2–4 week break
  • Community-reportedOther web source5
    250–500 mcg twice daily
  • Community-reportedOther web source5
    The total daily dose of 500–1,000 mcg falls within the range most commonly reported as effective.
  • Community-reportedOther web source5
    Taking days off from BPC-157 (unlike with GH secretagogues) doesn't appear to be necessary
  • Community-reportedOther web source5
    Higher doses required (typically 2–3x injectable doses)

Safety

Serious warnings

  • No boxed warning exists because there is no approved label. FDA text on its safety-risks page: 'Compounded drugs containing BPC-157 may pose risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration'; 'FDA has identified no, or only limited, safety-related information for the proposed routes of administration'; 'the agency lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm when administered to humans.'7
  • At the July 23, 2026 PCAC meeting, 'FDA staff scientists highlighted a general lack of quality data supporting safety and effectiveness' (news report). The committee considered BPC-157 for ulcerative colitis. The route reviewed was not described.8
  • A 2026 review lists potential risks of unapproved injectable peptides: product contamination, impurities, inaccurate dosing, pathological angiogenesis, carcinogenesis and cardiovascular stress. The class includes BPC-157, TB-500 and melanotan-II, not BPC-157 alone. These are review-level concerns, not trial findings.9
  • A 2026 review states 'BPC-157 may cause pain and/or necrosis upon injection into the subject alongside normal saline or other aqueous solutions'. The underlying primary source was not confirmed. The 2-subject IV pilot infused BPC-157 in normal saline without reported side effects.6

Contraindications

  • Precautions drawn from practice sources; they are not label contraindications because no approved label exists. (1) Active malignancy, recent cancer history or undiagnosed suspicious symptoms: 'BPC-157 is generally avoided in anyone with an active malignancy, a recent cancer history, or undiagnosed suspicious symptoms' (BHRC), because of the pro-angiogenic mechanism. The same page states 'no study has demonstrated that BPC-157 causes cancer in humans', so this risk is theoretical. (2) Pregnancy and breastfeeding: 'Pregnancy and breastfeeding (no safety data)' (BHRC). (3) Hypersensitivity to the peptide or to benzyl alcohol when reconstituted with bacteriostatic water (BHRC). (4) WADA prohibited list (anti-doping testing).3
  • Animal data only: in rats, BPC-157 did not show teratogenic effects. This is preclinical and is not human reassurance.6

Adverse effects

  • Interstitial cystitis pilot (n=12, single 10 mg injection): 'No one dropped out of the study, and no adverse events were reported.'1
  • IV pilot (n=2, 10 mg then 20 mg): 'The BPC-157 peptide infusion was tolerated, with no side effects reported.' Two subjects cannot exclude uncommon adverse events.2
  • Anonymous online user narratives (low evidence level, not clinically confirmed) reported 'injection site swelling and pain, anxiety, heart palpitations, weakness, depression, loss of appetite, fatigue, insomnia, joint pain, drowsiness, and anhedonia'. No case reports of serious events were identified in the literature searched for this monograph.6
  • Overall human safety base: 'Available clinical data derive from fewer than 30 subjects across three uncontrolled pilot studies, none of which employed standardized pharmaceutical preparations.'10
  • No human study has tested repeated daily subcutaneous dosing, so the safety of the 4-8 week cycles used in practice is untested. The single-administration findings above apply to 2 and 12 people.10
  • RAPS reports that FDA staff 'has received three adverse event (AE) reports following BPC-157 injection', including one case of shortness of breath with an emergency room visit. Causality is unclear, and the coverage says other medications were confounders.11

Monitoring

  • No validated monitoring recommendation exists. The IV pilot checked heart, liver, kidney, thyroid and glucose markers around two single infusions over about 3 days.2
  • Clinician judgement, not a sourced protocol: check baseline history and age-appropriate cancer screening status; measure resting heart rate and blood pressure before starting and at follow-up, since palpitations appear in user narratives; and check the injection site.6

Interactions

  • No drug interaction studies were identified. A 2026 review states 'Very limited safety information is available for BPC-157 therapy in humans'.6

Handling

Reconstitution

Worked arithmetic for the 10 mg formulary vial (BHRC table, bacteriostatic water, U-100 syringe): 10 mg in 2 mL gives 5,000 mcg/mL, so 250 mcg = 0.05 mL (5 units) and 500 mcg = 0.1 mL (10 units). A vial then holds forty 250-mcg doses or twenty 500-mcg doses. 10 mg in 4 mL gives 2,500 mcg/mL, so 250 mcg = 10 units and 500 mcg = 20 units. DOSING-ERROR WARNING: BHRC's common 5 mg-vial convention is 'adding 2 mL of bacteriostatic water to a 5 mg vial, giving 2,500 mcg/mL' (10 units = 250 mcg). The same 2 mL in a 10 mg vial gives 5,000 mcg/mL, where 10 units = 500 mcg: 'The same "10 units" delivers 500 mcg at 5,000 mcg/mL but only 250 mcg at 2,500 mcg/mL.' Do not carry 5 mg-vial unit counts over to a 10 mg vial. The dispensing pharmacy's label governs diluent volume. This arithmetic is convention, not pharmacy labeling.

Storage before mixing

One clinic page states: 'Lyophilized (unmixed) BPC-157 is generally stored frozen or refrigerated and is stable for many months.' This is not a pharmacy beyond-use date.

Storage after mixing

One clinic page states: 'keep it refrigerated at 2–8°C and use it within roughly 28 days' and 'never freeze a reconstituted vial'. This comes from a single clinic page. It is not confirmed against a pharmacy source.3

Evidence

The evidence is overwhelmingly preclinical. Human data are three small uncontrolled pilots from one clinic group: intravesical injection in 12 women with interstitial cystitis, IV infusion in 2 adults, and a retrospective chart review of intra-articular knee injections. There is no randomized trial, no label and no validated dosing regimen. A 2026 review reports that a 2015 phase I trial in 42 patients (pharmacokinetics and safety) was never published. Each of the three human reports describes single administrations by intravesical, IV or intra-articular routes. None tested repeated daily subcutaneous dosing, so tolerability of 4-8 week subcutaneous cycles has no human trial data.

Mechanism

BPC-157 is a synthetic 15-amino-acid peptide derived from a gastric protein fragment. Preclinical work reports VEGFR2 activation and nitric oxide synthesis via the Akt-eNOS axis, ERK1/2 engagement, angiogenesis, fibroblast activity and reduced inflammatory cytokines. Human mechanistic data are essentially absent.1213

Availability

Amounts offered

  • 10 mg

Custom strengths on request.

Book a call

References

According to PubMed

  1. 1Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis: A Pilot Study.Altern Ther Health Med 30(10):12-17, 2024
  2. 2Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study.Altern Ther Health Med 31(5):20-24, 2025
  3. 3BPC-157 Dosage Guide: Complete Protocol for Safe Administration (published July 24, 2026; updated September 11, 2026)Beverly Hills Rejuvenation Center (clinic blog, medically reviewed by clinic team, author a content writer), 2026
  4. 4BPC-157 Dosage: A Complete Guide (March 13, 2026)Dr. Rogers Centers (clinic blog), 2026
  5. 5How to Use BPC-157: Routes, Dosing, and Protocols (December 13, 2025; no author listed)PeptideJournal (educational site), 2025
  6. 6From Regeneration to Analgesia: The Role of BPC-157 in Tissue Repair and Pain Management.Int J Mol Sci 27(6), 2026
  7. 7Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks (section: Bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn); content current as of 04/22/2026U.S. FDA, 2026
  8. 8FDA advisory committee votes to add popular peptide BPC-157 to drug compounding list (news report, July 23, 2026)ABC News / Good Morning America, 2026
  9. 9Dangers of Injectable Peptides and Other Unregulated "Biohacking" Drugs.Mo Med 123(4):337-343, 2026
  10. 10BPC-157 as an Investigational Peptide Therapeutic: Biopharmaceutical Challenges, Formulation Strategies, and Translational Development Barriers.Pharmaceutics 18(5), 2026
  11. 11FDA Advisory Committee Backs Two Controversial PeptidesRAPS (Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society), 2026
  12. 12Regeneration or Risk? A Narrative Review of BPC-157 for Musculoskeletal Healing.Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med 18(12):611-619, 2025
  13. 13Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review.HSS J 21(4):485-495, 2025
  14. 14Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain.Altern Ther Health Med 27(4):8-13, 2021
  15. 15Stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 in trials for inflammatory bowel disease (PL-10, PLD-116, PL 14736, Pliva, Croatia). Full and distended stomach, and vascular response.Inflammopharmacology 14(5-6):214-21, 2006
  16. 16FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, July 23-24, 2026 (BPC-157 free base and acetate, Points to Consider 1-2)U.S. FDA, 2026

Last reviewed 2026-10-14. 40 figures checked against their sources. How this works