Reproductive & melanocortin
Oxytocin
Also known as Pitocin, Syntocinon, OXT, oxytocin injection USP, intranasal oxytocin
Neurohypophyseal peptide hormone (oxytocic; investigational neuropeptide)
FDA-approved as Pitocin. Compounded oxytocin is not FDA-approved. Source, 2026
Identity. Oxytocin is the endogenous nonapeptide hormone. The FDA-approved product (Pitocin, NDA018261) is an IV/IM obstetric injection labeled in USP units (10 units/mL). The formulary lists 10 mg and 50 mg vials (and 10 mg in blends). These are mass amounts, and every clinical dose here is in IU/units. The USP monograph for oxytocin bulk substance states: 'Its oxytocic activity is not less than 400 USP Oxytocin Units per mg'. A 10 mg vial therefore holds at least 4,000 units, and a 50 mg vial at least 20,000 units. One complete Pitocin pharmacy bulk package holds 500 units. A 24 IU research dose entered as '24 mg' would be roughly 400 times too high. The calculator must accept and display oxytocin doses in IU/units only, never mg, and must show the units-per-mg figure it assumes. Confirm actual potency on the partner pharmacy's certificate of analysis. The formulary entry does not state the intended route (intranasal, sublingual, subcutaneous). Pitocin (aqueous, IV/IM hospital product) is a different product from compounded lyophilized vials, so label storage does not transfer. Blend products containing oxytocin need per-component dosing.
At a glance
These dosages are a helpful guide, not a prescription. Every clinician is expected to do their own due diligence before prescribing.
Start
24 IU intranasal, single dose (healthy adult men)1
Human studyTypical
24 IU intranasal (standard dose in most healthy-adult studies)2
Human studyCeiling
72 IU intranasal twice daily on every third day (FOXY, adults with FTD)3
Human study
- Course
- 24 weeks (longest trial, children and adolescents with autism)5
Dosing detail
Approved label
Approved labelAntepartum, induction or stimulation of labor (medical indications), Pitocin label
0.5-1 mU/min7
- Route
- IV infusion (only acceptable parenteral route for induction/augmentation per label)
- Frequency
- Continuous IV infusion. At 30-60 minute intervals increase by 1-2 mU/min (milliunits per minute; not mcg or mg) until the desired contraction pattern is established; rates exceeding 9-10 mU/min are rarely required at term. Standard dilution is 10 units in 1,000 mL.
- Duration
- Not stated
- n
- not applicable
- Design
- FDA label
Source quote
At 30–60 minute intervals the dose should be gradually increased in increments of 1–2 mU/min until the desired contraction pattern has been established.
Finding. Label gives the initial rate and titration. Use in hospital only, with electronic monitoring of uterine activity and fetal heart rate.
Postpartum, after delivery of the placenta (Pitocin label)
10 units7
- Route
- IM
- Frequency
- Single dose
- Duration
- single administration
- n
- not applicable
- Design
- FDA label
Source quote
1 mL (10 units) of Pitocin can be given after the delivery of the placenta.
Finding. Label gives 10 units IM after delivery of the placenta for third-stage contractions and postpartum bleeding control.
Postpartum, IV (Pitocin label)
10 to 40 units added to the running infusion7
- Route
- IV
- Frequency
- maximum 40 units per 1,000 mL
- Duration
- Not stated
- n
- not applicable
- Design
- FDA label
Source quote
10 to 40 units of oxytocin may be added to the bottle, depending on the amount of electrolyte or dextrose solution remaining (maximum 40 units to 1000 mL).
Finding. Label gives this postpartum IV option.
Midtrimester elective abortion (Pitocin label)
10-20 mU/min7
- Route
- IV infusion
- Frequency
- Continuous; total dose not to exceed 30 units in 12 hours
- Duration
- Not stated
- n
- not applicable
- Design
- FDA label
Source quote
The total dose should not exceed 30 units in a 12-hour period due to the risk of water intoxication.
Finding. The cap exists because of water intoxication risk.
Human studies
Human studyChildren with autism, ages 8-12 (Leuven), intranasal oxytocin vs placebo
12 IU4
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- twice daily (full text: 3 puffs of 2 IU per nostril each time; 24 IU/day)
- Duration
- 4 weeks
- n
- 79 (abstract); 80 randomized
- Design
- Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled (exploratory biological endpoints)
Source quote
children with autism (n = 79, 16 females) receiving intranasal oxytocin for four weeks (12 IU, twice daily) displayed significantly higher salivary oxytocin levels 24 hours after the last oxytocin nasal spray administration
Finding. Salivary oxytocin higher 24 h after last dose, not at 4-week follow-up; reduced OXTR DNA methylation.
Children with autism, ages 8-12, frequency-tagging EEG neural sensitivity to faces
12 IU8
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- twice daily
- Duration
- 4 weeks
- n
- 61 (OT 29, placebo 32)
- Design
- Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled mechanistic trial
Source quote
the impact of repeated OT administration (4 weeks, 12 IU, twice daily) on neural sensitivity towards happy and fearful facial expressions in children with ASD (8-12 years old; OT: n = 29; placebo: n = 32)
Finding. Repeated oxytocin dampened an implicit learning effect seen in placebo; not a clinical benefit.
Children and adolescents 3-17 y with autism (SOARS-B), intranasal oxytocin vs placebo
48 international units daily (total target dose)5
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- Start 8 IU each morning; target 48 IU/day given as 24 IU twice daily, typically begun at week 8; after 7 weeks at target, escalation allowed by 16 IU every 4 weeks to a maximum of 80 IU/day. Mean maximal daily dose 67.6 IU.
- Duration
- 24 weeks
- n
- 290 enrolled (146 oxytocin, 144 placebo)
- Design
- Randomized, placebo-controlled phase 2
Source quote
The dose of oxytocin (or matched placebo) began at 8 international units (IU) administered each morning, with a target total daily dose of 48 IU, typically begun at week 8 and administered as 24 IU twice daily.
Finding. No significant difference on ABC-mSW: difference -0.2 (95% CI -1.5 to 1.0; P=0.61); incidence and severity of adverse events similar between groups, but one serious adverse event (sedation while driving causing a motor vehicle accident at 48 IU/day) was attributed to oxytocin.
Adults 30-80 y with frontotemporal dementia and apathy (FOXY), intranasal oxytocin vs placebo crossover
72 IU per administration3
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- Twice daily on dosing days (144 IU per dosing day). Schedules tested: every day, every other day, every third day; the every-third-day arm was optimal and daily dosing was not superior.
- Duration
- 6 weeks per period (6-week washout, then crossover)
- n
- 60 enrolled in stage 1 and 34 in stage 2 (94 total per abstract)
- Design
- Multicentre adaptive randomized double-blind placebo-controlled crossover phase 2a/2b
Source quote
6week administration of intranasal oxytocin at 72 IU twice daily on every third day was associated with small but potentially clinically meaningful improvements in apathy compared with placebo
Finding. Every-third-day schedule: NPI apathy -1.32 points vs placebo (95% CI -2.43 to -0.21; one-sided p=0.010). No adverse events attributed to oxytocin.
Adult men with ASD (within-subject) and neurotypical controls, resting-state functional connectivity dose comparison
0, 8, 24, 48 IU9
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- single administrations (one dose per session; schedule not stated in abstract)
- Duration
- not stated in abstract
- n
- 30 adult men with ASD; 17 neurotypical controls on placebo
- Design
- Double-blind, placebo-controlled, within-subject
Source quote
We examined the effects of varying doses of IN-OXT (0 IU, 8 IU, 24 IU, 48 IU) on rsFC in a double-blind, placebo-controlled, within-subject design in 30 male adults with ASD and 17 neurotypical controls (NT) receiving placebo.
Finding. Dose-dependent effects on connectivity; 48 IU more effective overall, 24 IU in those with lower OXTR methylation and lower symptom severity.
Healthy men across the adiposity spectrum, caloric intake / proteomic response
24 IU1
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- single dose
- Duration
- single dose; blood drawn to 55 min
- n
- 25 men exposed; proteomic data in 19
- Design
- Double-blind randomized placebo-controlled crossover
Source quote
In a double-blind, randomized controlled crossover design, 25 men were exposed to a single dose of 24 IU intranasal oxytocin vs. placebo.
Finding. Intranasal oxytocin reduced caloric intake at the test meal (parent study); 198 proteins differentially expressed.
Systematic review of 38 RCTs of intranasal oxytocin (central effects), mostly healthy adult men
18-40 IU6
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- mainly single doses, up to 182 administrations
- Duration
- short term (trials 1990-2010)
- n
- 1529 participants (79% male)
- Design
- Systematic review of 38 randomised controlled trials
Source quote
Dosages ranged from 18 to 40 IU, mainly in single doses but ranged up to 182 administrations.
Finding. No reliable side effects vs placebo at 18-40 IU short term in controlled research settings; three case reports of adverse reactions from misuse/longer-term use.
Systematic review of dose-response of intranasal oxytocin on social cognition, healthy adults
1-48 (most studies 24) IU2
- Route
- intranasal
- Frequency
- not stated in abstract
- Duration
- not stated in abstract
- n
- not stated in abstract
- Design
- Systematic review
Source quote
By comparing findings across studies using intranasal oxytocin doses ranging from 1 IU to 48 IU in healthy adult humans, we evaluate evidence for a potential dose-response relationship. The majority of studies administered a standard dose of 24 IU
Finding. Majority used 24 IU; evidence for lower and higher doses mixed; support for inverted-U curve largely lacks direct dose comparisons.
What clinics and vendors publish
These ranges come from clinic and vendor publications, not studies.
Practice dosing rests on one affiliate-supported vendor guide. Its author lists no medical credential and it has no medical reviewer. No peer-reviewed review, prescriber protocol or textbook on clinical-practice dosing was identified. A compounding-pharmacy product page gave a once-daily intranasal spray regimen and a 100 IU/mL concentration. Those figures are not used because no independent source supports them. Typical dose, frequency, titration, ceiling, timing and cycle are therefore left blank. Sublingual and subcutaneous dosing have no human trial support. Online vendor subcutaneous protocols in mcg (100, 200-300 and 400-500 mcg; about 50-250 IU at the vendor's own conversion of approximately 2 mcg per IU) are 5 to 25 times the labeled 10-unit IM uterotonic dose and have no human trial support. They are listed as a warning only. Do not use in anyone who is or may be pregnant.
- StartCommunity-reported
- No practice-source start dose. Trial reference only (SOARS-B, ages 3-17): 8 IU each morning.
- RouteCommunity-reported
- Intranasal is the route with trial data. Online vendor material also describes sublingual troches and subcutaneous use, without human trial dosing data.
Compounded sublingual troches usually carry per-dose amounts in the low-hundreds-of-IU range.
Doses in published trials range from about 10 to 72 IU per session.
One international unit (IU) of oxytocin is approximately 2 micrograms of pure peptide.
Safety
Serious warnings
- Boxed warning (Pitocin): 'Elective induction of labor is defined as the initiation of labor in a pregnant individual who has no medical indications for induction. Since the available data are inadequate to evaluate the benefits-to-risks considerations, Pitocin is not indicated for elective induction of labor.'7
- Label: for induction or augmentation, give oxytocin only intravenously, with adequate medical supervision in a hospital. Infusion requires electronic monitoring of uterine activity and fetal heart rate.7
- Label: water intoxication is a noted risk, particularly with continuous infusion in patients taking fluids by mouth. The label lists water intoxication among maternal adverse reactions that can be fatal. For abortion use, the total dose should not exceed 30 units in 12 hours because of water intoxication risk. The label also states oxytocin 'has inherent pressor and antidiuretic properties which may become manifest when large doses are administered'. Water intoxication with convulsions may occur if large doses (40 to 50 milliunits/minute) are infused for long periods.7
- Accidental large-bolus oxytocin overdose has caused severe hypotension and water intoxication (case report). This is relevant to concentrated, mass-labeled compounded vials.11
- Online subcutaneous protocols of 100-500 mcg (about 50-250 IU) are 5 to 25 times the labeled 10-unit IM uterotonic dose and have no human trial support.10
Contraindications
- Label: antepartum use is contraindicated where there is significant cephalopelvic disproportion; in unfavorable fetal positions or presentations, such as transverse lies, undeliverable without conversion prior to delivery; in obstetrical emergencies where the benefit-to-risk ratio favors surgical intervention; in fetal distress where delivery is not imminent; where adequate uterine activity fails to achieve satisfactory progress; where the uterus is already hyperactive or hypertonic; in cases where vaginal delivery is contraindicated, such as invasive cervical carcinoma, active herpes genitalis, total placenta previa, vasa previa, and cord presentation or prolapse of the cord; and in patients with hypersensitivity to the drug.7
- Non-obstetric (off-label) use: exclude pregnancy or possible pregnancy before use of a uterotonic. Confirm with an hCG test in people of reproductive potential. The cited trials excluded or checked pregnancy. FOXY excluded pregnancy or breastfeeding.3
Adverse effects
- Label, maternal: anaphylactic reaction, premature ventricular contractions, postpartum hemorrhage, pelvic hematoma, cardiac arrhythmia, subarachnoid hemorrhage, fatal afibrinogenemia, hypertensive episodes, nausea, rupture of the uterus, vomiting, plus hypertonicity and water intoxication. Fetal/neonatal: bradycardia, low Apgar scores, arrhythmias, neonatal jaundice, neonatal seizures, fetal death.7
- FOXY trial (72 IU intranasal): events in at least 5% of participants were upper respiratory tract infection and headache. No adverse events were attributed to oxytocin treatment.3
- SOARS-B (target 48 IU/day intranasal, 24 weeks, ages 3-17): adverse event incidence and severity were similar between groups. One serious adverse event was considered related to oxytocin: sedation while driving that led to a motor vehicle accident at 48 IU/day. Most discontinuations in the oxytocin group were for irritability or aggression. Counsel patients on sedation and driving.5
- Systematic review of 38 RCTs: no reliable side effects versus placebo at 18-40 IU short term in controlled research settings. Three case reports describe adverse reactions due to misuse and longer-term use of intranasal oxytocin.6
Monitoring
- Label: electronic monitoring of uterine activity and fetal heart rate during induction or augmentation infusion (hospital setting). No monitoring schedule for intranasal, sublingual or subcutaneous use was found in the cited sources.7
- Non-obstetric use, from trial protocols: SOARS-B obtained ECG, pregnancy status, blood chemistry, liver enzymes and prolactin at screening and week 24, plus vital signs; FOXY assessed serum sodium, ECG/QTcF and vital signs. Reasonable outpatient monitoring therefore includes baseline and periodic serum sodium (antidiuretic effect; counsel against excess fluid intake), blood pressure and pulse, ECG/QTc in cardiac disease, and hCG in people of reproductive potential. This is a synthesis of trial monitoring, not a labeled outpatient schedule.5
Interactions
- Label: severe hypertension has been reported when oxytocin follows a vasoconstrictor given with caudal block anesthesia. Cyclopropane anesthesia can produce hypotension and sinus bradycardia.7
Handling
Reconstitution
No reconstitution instructions for a lyophilized oxytocin vial were identified in the cited sources.
Storage before mixing
The 20 to 25 C statement applies to aqueous Pitocin only. The USP monograph for oxytocin bulk substance states: 'Preserve in tight containers, preferably of Type I glass, in a refrigerator.' Confirm compounded-vial storage with the partner pharmacy.
Storage after mixing
A compounded intranasal spray used in a published trial protocol (NCT04210310) was stored in amber glass bottles at 2 C-8 C (36 F-46 F), not frozen and protected from direct light. The prepared study agent was good for 30 days in the refrigerator. This comes from a trial protocol, not a pharmacy label. Pitocin pharmacy bulk package: discard the unused portion within 24 hours of first entry.71213
Evidence
The only FDA-approved use is obstetric (IV infusion; IM postpartum), which differs from compounded vials. Intranasal research doses (12 to 72 IU per administration) come from RCTs in autism, frontotemporal dementia and healthy adults. The largest pediatric autism RCT (SOARS-B, n=290) was negative. Controlled evidence exists only for intranasal administration, and it is mostly null or shows small effects. No peer-reviewed human trial of subcutaneous or sublingual dosing was identified. The only practice dosing source is a vendor page.
Mechanism
Oxytocin is a peptide hormone. The label states that it produces uterine contractions (labor induction or stimulation, third-stage labor, postpartum bleeding control). Intranasal trials target central social and behavioral outcomes. A mechanism for those outcomes was not established in the cited sources.14
Availability
Amounts offered
- 10 mg
Custom strengths on request.
Blends that include Oxytocin
References
According to PubMed
- 1Identification of intranasal oxytocin plasma proteome signaturesEndocrine 91(1) (Breithaupt et al.), 2026
- 2Dose-response effects of exogenous oxytocin on social cognition: A systematic reviewNeurosci Biobehav Rev 178:106350 (Barton et al.), 2025
- 3Intranasal oxytocin for apathy in people with frontotemporal dementia (FOXY): a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, adaptive, crossover, phase 2a/2b superiority trialLancet Neurol 24(2):128-139 (Coleman et al.), 2025
- 4Chronic oxytocin administration stimulates the oxytocinergic system in children with autismNature Communications 15(1):58 (Moerkerke et al.), 2024
- 5Intranasal Oxytocin in Children and Adolescents with Autism Spectrum DisorderN Engl J Med 385:1462 (Sikich et al., SOARS-B), 2021
- 6A review of safety, side-effects and subjective reactions to intranasal oxytocin in human researchPsychoneuroendocrinology 36:1114 (MacDonald et al.), 2011
- 7Pitocin label fields (boxed warning, dosage and administration, contraindications, warnings, adverse reactions) retrieved via openFDA, effective_time 20260506, version 15openFDA drug label API (api.fda.gov/drug/label.json), 2026
- 8Can repeated intranasal oxytocin administration affect reduced neural sensitivity towards expressive faces in autism? A randomized controlled trialJ Child Psychol Psychiatry 64(11):1583-1595 (Moerkerke et al.), 2023
- 9Random forest and Shapley Additive exPlanations predict oxytocin targeted effects on brain functional networks involved in salience and sensorimotor processing, in a randomized clinical trial in autismNeuropsychopharmacology 50(9):1385-1394 (Andari et al.), 2025
- 10Oxytocin Peptide Dosing Guide: Routes, Reconstitution & Safety (2026) (affiliate-supported vendor guide, no medical reviewer listed)Peptide Dosing Protocols, 2026
- 11Severe hypotension and water intoxication after accidental oxytocin overdose (case report)Korean J Anesthesiol 60(4):290, 2011
- 12A pilot, proof of concept, placebo-controlled, parallel study of the effects of high dose intranasal oxytocin for the treatment of tinnitus (study protocol, section 6.1.3 Product Storage and Stability)NYU Langone Health / ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04210310 (Newman, principal investigator), 2021
- 13USP 35 Oxytocin monograph (potency and storage)USP 35 via drugfuture.com, 2012
- 14Pitocin (oxytocin injection, USP), prescribing information, indications and usageDailyMed / Par Health USA, LLC (NDA018261), set id 6d4b2c25-2e5d-49b5-93bc-2ae8a20916d1, 2026
- 15Bulk Drug Substances Used in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act (content current as of 05/14/2026; oxytocin not mentioned)U.S. FDA, 2026
- 16Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act (Categories 1-3), updated May 14, 2026; oxytocin not listedU.S. FDA, 2026
Last reviewed 2026-10-14. 36 figures checked against their sources. How this works